Days Off

Well just in case you were wondering what happened, I decided to take Thursday off from counting and eating right and decided to just go ahead and eat and relax.  So that was what I did and just after I finished my dinner was when I learned that my friend had died of cancer.  I’m thankful that she is no longer in pain which was her main complaint these last few weeks and her daughter was right there when she passed.

I’m very thankful that the family got to see her that day and sad for the daughter as she was there when her mother passed but thankful that the nurse suggested that she stay a few more minutes with her mother.  The last vision my friend had was of her beautiful daughter, my wonderful sister-in-law.  I will deeply miss Fern but she lives on in her daughter and her granddaughters.

Work has become a royal pain in the mikta and I will just have to face the facts that despite my best wishes, the EDQ will never change for the better but will only get worse with time.  Now that I have that in mind I think it is time to back away and keep my distance from her and remain much more professional and do my best to let things just slide off of me.  I had been kind and worked several days at other stations when she was assigned and she promised to work the next 3 times I had to go somewhere, no matter where.  Then she changed and said anywhere but the West station and now that I’ve got to fill in for someone she said she didn’t want to work that station for me.  Well first she said she did then she changed her mind so I’ve made up my mind.  I’m going to work the other station and have some peace of mind.

So I took off Thursday in a way to prepare for a focused 21 days of remaining under 100 grams per day and exercising even if it is just walking 1 miles every day.  So that is my goal.

Yet on Friday my good intentions just went out the window.  I was good for the first bit of the morning, hell I was even good through the afternoon, it was the evening when things went awry.  I had lunch which was just a sandwich with the let over humus from the night before and then I changed clothes to go on a hike.

I went to some trails and now I know what they mean by level 4 trails…OMG!  When I lived in Colorado I used to go hiking and I thought the trails were interesting, but then again I never did Pike’s Peak which was just a few miles from where I lived.  I know stupid me but my BP was so outrageously high that I was afraid that it would be too much for me.

Well little did I know that the level 4 trails around where I now live nearly did me in yesterday.  I had on my heart monitor and as I was walking things got really interesting.  I went from paved trail to compost bark trail to structured steps to mountain goat climbing or at least that was how it felt.  It was a good thing that I had just bought a good pair of hiking boots because they came in handy and helped me keep good balance.  Okay never mind that I stepped wrong one time on a rock and I felt severe pain in that foot right where I had stepped on the rock which still hurts the morning after, but all in all my Merrell boots were a good choice.  Also glad that I had a walking stick because it helped keep me balanced and not only helped me climb up like a mountain goat but also helped me walk my fat body down some very intense rocks and not fall down.

I guess the best part of all was being able to make the hike.  Yes my heart raced up to 182 but that was when I was doing the intense mountain goat imitation and I could feel it really beating hard but there was no place to stop on the climb so I continued until I got to the top.  I then stopped and very quickly my heart rate dropped to 160 in less than a minute and back down to 150 about a minute later.  It stayed 140-160 the rest of the time depending on if I was doing a lesser mountain goat hike or if the incline was less intense.

One important factor that I learned was watch where I’m walking so I don’t injure my foot again, continue to take my Camelbak of water with other stuff for emergency use and my walking stick.  I love my walking stick even if it isn’t the one I found discarded by Nutrias or maybe left behind as I walked into the area.  Either way that worked for some time as I hiked in that area but when I moved to Colorado I didn’t realize my walking stick had been discarded by my brother and thought to be trash.  Oh well…but I digress.  I didn’t have the walking stick in Colorado and managed to make it up the hills and trails with no so many problems.  I don’t even remember my heart beating so hard as it did yesterday but then again I don’t think I ever paid it that much attention or maybe I just forgot.  Must have been a senior moment….oh wait I wasn’t a senior then.  Sorry my bad.

Any way my point through all of this is the fact that I hiked 3.2 miles and played mountain goat through a part of the trails and loved it.  The only thing that ruined it was a family with 5 kids that were screaming and shouting at the top of their lungs.  Unfortunately they scared off wildlife I was trying to photograph and I couldn’t shake them until the last 200 yards of the hike.

So except for the noise at the end, the hike was wonderful and peaceful and I would go again today but I now it will be crowded because it is Saturday and also because we are expecting rain.  Not cool to go hiking in the rain.

I’ve got a busy day ahead because I learned we have fleas in the house which I have to take care of before it gets totally out of control.  So I will be taking care of that and do a whole lot of cleaning instead of hiking or anything usually taking me outside.  So a day inside working, sounds like so much fun.  Not really planning on watching too much of what I eat because I’m going to be trying to prepare my meals in advance so I can easily stay under 100 grams of carbs probably starting on Sunday when I go back to work.

Wish me luck and patience in ridding the house of fleas.  That is the only down side to having a dog yet I will have a dog once again, but not for some time because I’m still saddened by the loss of my two dogs Slider who I put to sleep 1 1/2 years ago and her sister, Catcher who was put to sleep last month.  I miss them still so no dogs for a while for me.  Well the stores will be open soon and I need to get ready to go shopping for flea killing supplies.

Leave a Reply

