Day 14 of 28

Okay so I’m at the last of two weeks of the overnight diet.  I’m kind of at a loss as to whether or not this is a good diet for me or not.  Yeah it was great after day 1 where I got on the scale and lost 3.7 pounds, heck that was more than the woman used in the example in the book but that was the end of the rapid weight loss for me.  In the book the author describes that a mother went on the diet with her adult daughter and the mother lost 2 pounds after day 1 and by the end of the week she had lost 9 pounds.  So I thought that was great and what an inspiration it was and so I started this diet hoping that I would get almost as good results because I thought I could do it.

Unfortunately I’ve found too many instances where I didn’t really follow the book or her instructions.  I have a hard time eating some of the foods recommended, I love the dark green vegetables but can’t stand other veggies and that is a problem.  I only like certain fruits but being bad, I only liked them when I could add sweetener to them but I’m learning how to eat them without.  I love the different colored peppers but unfortunately they all give me extreme gas as do cucumbers and well I’m not a fan of a lot of veggies.  Good thing I’m not a vegetarian because I would probably starve, but like Calvin (Calvin & Hobbes) I’m not a vegetarian…I’m a desertarian meaning I love deserts…heck who doesn’t!  Don’t answer that because I really don’t want to know about those people….crazy!

Okay well let me go on and tell you how this day started at 199.1; see only 2/10 of a pound.  Frustration is starting to mount.

Well I did my best not to get upset but it is getting harder and harder to do if you know what I mean.  So I skipped breakfast because I had things to do…Yeah I know don’t skip breakfast but I wasn’t hungry and it is hard for me to eat when I’m not hungry.  So I got up and relaxed a little bit and then started doing my Rev Up Exercise for the day because I know that I will want to rush home tonight and see a show.  Okay I’ll admit that I’m an NCIS fan and we are getting at the end of the season and things are getting really good.  So knowing that I also need to get to bed relatively early so I can get up early to take my mother grocery shopping and then I have to leave early for work so that I can stop by the feed store on the way to work and pick up some food for our station rooster.  Yes we have a rooster who apparently got lost from his home about 5 years ago and he just adopted us.  At first there were 3 roosters and 1 hen and then 1 rooster and the hen disappeared.  Then we had two roosters and the one who is our mascot ended up pecking out the other rooster’s eye and taking off his cock’s comb which grew back but obviously not the eye.  Then eventually that rooster died about  3 years ago and now we only have our 1 station rooster.

So where was I….well no matter where, let me to ahead and list what I had for food today.

Breakfast – skipped

Lunch – ham steak sandwich w/grilled pineapple, ice cream

Snack – carrot sticks w/FF dip

Dinner – steak, broccoli, whole wheat pasta w/Alfredo sauce

 

Well except for the last bit of my lunch, I ate what I was supposed to eat with the exception of the ice cream.  But I wanted it and so I only hope that my eating so early in the day will not kill me.  Right now it is hard for me to believe that I’m going to do the protein smoothie thing again for another day.  It would be great if I knew that I could lose a couple of pounds but I really don’t see that happening.

So let me look back at how things have been for me for these last two weeks.  When I started this my weight was 205.1 which isn’t really so great.  My current weight is 199.1 meaning that in two weeks I lost 6 pounds.  Now that really isn’t bad but the only way that I found to actually lose the weight was for me to substitute a protein drink/smoothie in lieu of one of the meals which is not the way things are supposed to go.  I should have been losing weight.

Then I tried to isolate myself from this and started really thinking about what I was or more correctly what I wasn’t doing right.  I was doing my best to keep the protein level at 12 which is what it should be for my ideal weight.  So I actually was having to focus on not having too much or too little which was really getting to be a pain in the backside.

Next I was having a problem with not eating enough vegetables for my meals and as snacks.

Last but not least I was not eating very much fruit and I know that fruit is really helpful in not only curbing your appetite but it also has a sweetness that just can’t be beat.  Okay so it can be beat with artificial things and some natural things like….come on you know what I’m talking about……..CHOCOLATE!!!!!

This year I’ve been focused on trying to diet and not being able to make the snacks and treats for the crew at work as I have done in years past, of course they say it is good because they’re trying to diet but the moment someone brings up their kid’s chocolate candy the box will sell out in less than 8 hours which is quick considering our place is open 24 hours a day 7 days a week.  So no treats for the gang lately and feeling a little guilty about it plus I would maybe eat 1 or 2 an then I was done and had no desire to eat any of the treats.

Did I tell you that I exercised today?  Well I did just in case I forgot to mention it.  I guess I will have a lot of searching deep inside of me to do before tomorrow morning comes.  Six (6) pounds is a good amount to lose in 2 weeks and something that I should be proud of but it is hard to feel that way when so many people around me doing boot camp stuff and eating a lot more meals are lose weight at a more rapid pace.  I understand that for weight to stay off it should come off slowly but that is not the case with me.  Sometimes I can just have a slice of cake and will gain 3 pounds even after I go walking for 2 miles.  So I’m a bit of a loss for words on how to describe how discouraged I’m trying not to be.

So I’m going to wrap it up for the night and think about things, do I want to continue on the overnight diet and do the smoothie day tomorrow, do I want to eat regular tomorrow and maybe try to increase my exercising or do I want to try something different or even go back to more Paleo eating but including a whole lot more vegetables and some more fruit.

Trying to eat the correct and healthy way isn’t as easy as you might think and I have a few problems with ‘planks’ in the workout routines but I struggle through them and know that one day I will do them the allotted time period and will as good doing them as I one used to be.  Until then I will struggle through until things get better.

So a lot to think about as well as go home and play with my new camera that just arrived.

So good health and good thoughts to you.  May the scale show a weight loss to you the next time you step on it if your goal is to lose weight.

2 thoughts on “Day 14 of 28

  1. Hi there! Julie again…I received and read my book and should be getting my protein shakes delivered this afternoon with a tentative smoothie start day of Saturday. I look forward to reading your blogs everyday and I feel for you as I go through a lot of the same thoughts and emotions. I’ve tried countless diets and for the most part, except for starving myself, I have failed. On a side note, hormones have a lot to do with weight gain but that’s a whole other story. Six pounds is awesome! Any loss is a good loss! Especially since you admit to not following the books recommendations as close as you should be. I hope you do decide to do your smoothie day – I want you to succeed! I look forward to reading your next post! Keep up the good work!!

    • I appreciate your words and know that it encouraged me to keep on doing this diet. It isn’t easy and I at least need to give it a better try. Thanks for those kind words.

Leave a Reply

