Boot Camp Hell

Yep you read it right, I’ve started taking Boot Camp classes and it is hell on me.  Never mind that I’ve only attended one class, I’m in pain and to make things worse, I mowed the lawn today in the hot, hot sun and that didn’t help me at all.  Now my plan is to get my fat backside up and into class at 6 am which means I have to wake up early instead of sleeping.  Well I can bet you a dollar that once I come home tomorrow morning I will be crashing.

How did this come to be, well silly me was talking with a co-worker who pointed out a special on one of the coupon sites and it was a boot camp unlimited classes for two months for 1/2 off the price of 1 month unlimited classes.  So getting 2 months of classes for the price of 1/2 month.  Thought it was too good of a deal to pass up.  I’m beginning to wonder if I shouldn’t have passed it up.

Now don’t get me wrong, I went to it on Saturday and did my best which was pretty miserable.  I only had the second best rowing time and other than that I was severely lower on my counts than anyone else.  Okay so there were 3 new people in our class of 10 who were new but they were in their late 20’s and early 30’s and worked out about twice a week.  So here I am, an old fart who is going to hit the double nickel (55) on Tuesday doing my best to get through the class.  I was out of breath at the end of the hour and my friend who talked me into the class suggested we go out and eat.

Mistake, I ate too much but left most of the starchy food (fries) on the plate and ate the turkey/bacon sandwich.  I had water and not soda but when I got home that night I had a piece of cake and ate a burger with fries and ate all of the fries that time.  Yeah a lot of good that did me.  But I’m sure that I will pay the price very soon….oh wait paying now.

I took a picture of me the morning of class, as disgusting as it was and let my fat hang out, then took my measurements and can only estimate my weight because I forgot to weigh myself that morning.  Yeah I know, dumb move.  So I’m going on the assumption that I was pretty close to 203 pounds and hope I wasn’t heavier than that because I’d been eating primal and had been bad the day before going to boot camp.

So I went there and didn’t die but was sure as heck out of breath.  I will say that the instructor and assistant were encouraging and when they saw I was struggling encouraged me and reminded me to catch my breath.  So yeah I didn’t collapse and pass out.  So that was Saturday and today on Sunday I had to mow the lawn.  I don’t want to have to do it when I return from boot camp tomorrow so I got up and started it at about 11:00 am, it was still relatively hot but not too hot.  I finished with time to relax then scarf down a PBJ sandwich, yeah I know not exactly healthy but if I was going to carb out that was the time so I did it.  I cooled off partially then hopped into the shower and started getting ready for work which included washing my hair.  Now guys may not think too much of it but my hair is very thick  and almost to the middle of my back which means it is long and with so much hair it is not an easy task, just ask my stylist.  So finally got finished and had about 20 minutes to relax so I lay down on my bed and wanted to seriously slap the shit out of my alarm when it went off which was my phone.

So here I am at work and now I’m feeling the pain.  My tushy hurts probably from all of the step ups on 20″ boxes.  Now that my not seem like much to most of you but I’m a little old lady who is only 63″ tall so that is about 1/3 of my total height.  Holly cow that is a big step up. I was told to start with a 15 pound kettlebell but the only one was grabbed by the younger obviously more fit female newby and mine was almost 17 pounds which is really a lot on the second go round of step-ups and kettle ball swings.  Oh well we did our stuff and I newby girl did not do all of the reps that she was supposed to do but I kept my mouth shut and just struggled on with mine.  I figure it will only hurt her in the long run and oh hell my doing them is hurting me in the here and now.  Ouch!!!

That is all I can do because what I experienced in pain is all due to my poor eating habits and lack of exercise.  So what is the solution to this problem.  No the solution is not go out and eat a whole chocolate cake!  The only solution I can think about is to eat much better and kep on taking the classes.  Now this week will be really messed up because I have errands to run on some days and then my sibs are coming into town this weekend for a lumberjack party.  No that doesn’t mean we all wear flannel shirts and carry around an axe.  I have one brother who lives in a small burb outside of our big city who needs a tree felled.

A few years back my younger brother and I worked on taking down some limbs on a tree in my front yard and then my sibs came over and we felled the tree and then took a couple of days chopping it up with our chainsaws.  How sad is this when each of my sibs, including myself and my mother all have our own chain saws!  Are we sick….nah we just all have trees we have to take down.  So we’re heading to brother #3’s house this weekend to take down the tree dropped a huge limb on the roof of his wife’s new car.  Stupid tree, it should have known there would be consequences.  We have ropes to make it go where we want it to go, so long tree.

So what should have been a day of rest was spent mowing the lawn.  Then going to work a little bit tired.  Maybe that is good so I will go to sleep early and get up in time to go to boot camp.  The classes are at 0600 and 1730 hours so since I work at 1730 hours that only leaves the 0600 hour class.  But I hate being out o shape and fat more than I think I hate boot camp.  Kind of a fair trade-off if you ask me.  So wish me luck as I try to struggle through my workout tomorrow morning.

 

okay lots of errors probably through here but I’m done and time to shut down.

Leave a Reply

