Weekend of Destruction

I had an interesting weekend, mainly one based on destruction….I got to play with my chain saw.  This weekend some of my brothers came into town and on Saturday we all got together and went over to another brother’s house where we helped fell his tree.  It is rather funny because out of the 5 kids, 4 of us have chain saws and my mother has 2 chain saws, both electric…yeah, go figure.  So now I think for Christmas my oldest brother is going to be asking for a chain saw because this spring we may have another weekend of destruction.

Why did we take down a tree, well it was dying and as it turned out his wife had just bought a new car and pulled into the driveway and parked the vehicle and we had a touch of wind that night.  When she came outside the next morning she found that a large tree limb had collapsed her roof and ruining her new car.  So when she mentioned that they needed to take down the tree and had been talking about it for a while, we all asked my brother why he didn’t call on us sooner.  Now this was on Mother’s Day when they came in and learned about what happened.  So a couple of months later we showed up and we had chain saws/ropes/energy all waiting to be used.

Thankfully I got on a line to help pull (guide) the tree in the direction we wanted it to fall which was not on his fence or on his storage shed nor on his house.  Don’t worry we had already moved the cars out of the way.  So two brothers took turns cutting through the trunk of the tree while 3 of us guided the tree with the ropes.  It only took about 45 minutes to take down the tree, the long part was trying to cut it up and haul it off to an area where the brother could do a control burn on the tree.  The transporting the and cutting up the fallen tree is where I messed up my knee a bit.  Not much but the fact that I was standing and putting pressure on my knees by pulling and pushing the tree parts as well as lifting the tree parts into the small trailer on the back of the riding lawnmower that really did a number on my knees.

I’m sure you remember me just talking about messing up my knees doing the burpees in boot camp class, well the lifting, because I lifted correctly and used my legs and the rolling (pushing) of large slices of tree trunks also cause my knees to be abused again.  At least they weren’t totally destroyed like from the burpees but they are still plenty sore from my weekend.

It is a good thing that we only get together to do things like this weekend every couple of years because until I get into shape my body just won’t take it any more.  So I’m back to R.I.C.E. for my knees (Rest, Icing, Compression and Elevation).  Hopefully I can get back to better eating, still having left overs from my weekend of destruction, but at least the majority of the food is healthy.  So soon I will be eating normal.

Maybe I’ll take advantage of using the BBQ grill and cook bacon on the grill (yes when the coals are white) and it will keep the smell of bacon out of the house and hopefully will be less mess.  So the heat of the coals will cook the bacon and keep the house cooler.  Now that sounds like a good idea, wish I had thought of it sooner.

So one tree down and the swelling in my knees are up.  So is that a fair trade…nah, I don’t think so.  But at least it was fun to get out there and cut away at the tree with my own chain saw.  I love the feel of power tools in my hands in the morning!

Leave a Reply

