Lost My Way

Well I didn’t really try very hard during the holidays to control things and it really shows.  I now have problems even fitting into my work pants much less fastening them without having to suck my gut in.  So you could say that I succeeded in gaining weight but that wasn’t really what I wanted to do.

Then I thought that I would start in January but kept coming up with excuse after excuse and before I knew it I had hit a record high on my weight….. 219.9, I said it.  I got up to 220 lbs and I had not been that heavy since early 2000.  Now of course in the spring of 2000 I lost 17 pounds in 15 days.  The thing is that I didn’t realize that I was losing that much weight and it came off so easily.  Probably the reason I lost it so quick and easily was because I was on vacation.  Bet that is the first time you’ve heard of people losing that much weight while on vacation. I went to Spain then Portugal back to Spain, to the UK (Rock of Gibraltar) and finished up in Spain.

I know you’re thinking trick diet, no it was just being on the go all of the time.  We ate at least 3 meals a day but we walked everywhere and I was carrying around a camera bag.  So I was lifting weights (my camera bag) and walking 5-10 miles a day.  The funny thing was that I was eating all sorts of unhealthy things…well not really unhealthy but let’s just say that a breakfast sandwich of egg/bacon/on a roll for breakfast/lunch/dinner wasn’t the wisest choice but it sure was tasty.  So now that I think about it, the person I was traveling with didn’t like the local cuisine too much so we ate a lot of American fast foods.  When we did eat locally it was pork or seafood and yes there was a lot of starch items such as rice, lots of rice in the dishes that we ate.  The thing was that we did a lot of exercise and despite them having siesta, we were still pretty much on the move.

I wish I could have stayed longer and maybe I would have lost more weight but that didn’t happen but it took 2 years of bad eating for the weight to start coming back.  So the lesson I should have kept in mind was exercise, exercise, exercise.  Because I was so active I managed to burn what I ate.

I know I’ve probably recognized that before but right now it is really hitting home because of my pants being so tight as well as my sports bras.  That part really sucks.  Just a few months ago I had loose fitting clothes and now they are fitting very tightly.

So the other day during one of the few very cold days in our city, I came across an older gentleman (only saying that because of his white hair and beard) who didn’t act old.  He had just stopped in a convenience store right across from my station and I had a chance to talk with him.  I was riding a red trike and it was all decked out, I’ll explain later.  So after speaking to him a bit I learned that he started his trike journey in Seattle, WA, turns out he has traveled well over 2100 miles all on his trike.

So his trike was all decked with a computer, mirrors, flags, lights, rack w/saddlebags, water bottle holder and windjammer.  The windjammer covered the front giving him some protection from the elements of the road which pulled down over the top of his trike.

I was really amazed at what he had been doing but I knew that he was in a hurry to get in as the weather was getting colder and soon it would be dark and he also needed to get checked into his hotel.  But I asked him how comfortable it was to ride and he said it was the best ride.  I mentioned that I was interested in one and he asked me why and I said because I have CTS.  He smiled and said he too had CTS, back problems and some minor knee problems.  I asked how he was able to make such a long ride and he said he was because of the trike.  He pointed out a few things to me and then suggested that I should do some research on the internet but to be careful if I decide to buy one and to buy one that would last me for years because if I really like bicycling and be prepared to drop some money on it.

Boy was he right!  I took a look at some of the trikes and right away I found some but they were almost $1,000 and that was a bit high.  So I did some more research and landed on a couple of manufacturers and then I truly had sticker shock at seeing their price tags for their trikes.  Then there were Delta trikes and Tadpole trikes and so I did some more research into those type of trikes.

Long story short, I determined that I would be more comfortable with a tadpole style trike because the handlebars/steering was down by my side where on the delta trikes I would still need to raise my arms which had become a problem with my CTS.  After less than a week of looking for the type of trike as well as the make of the trikes then I had to find a shop that had these bikes because in my city the only type of dealer of tadpole trikes was a bicycle touring company and they only had two different makes of trikes.  So I had to drive over 90 miles to a nearby city (nearby is all relative) where I came across a recumbent bike shop.

They allowed me to try out several trikes but after one quick spin, my wallet and my heart was set on a particular trike.  So a few hours later I come home hurting in my wallet but happiness was on my face.  I bought my trike.

Just in case you are wondering what I bought, my wallet allowed me to buy a Catrike Pocket tadpole trike.  It was fitted for me since probably no one else will be riding it and then off I went with my trike in the bed of my truck.

So I had lost my way for about 2 1/2 months.  I’m truly hoping the purchase of my new trike will be lots of fun and maybe then I will get back into being active.  You might want to check one of my other bogs, “Recumbent Trike Riding” for some more details about my trike ordeal.

I will be checking in and letting you know if that is helping me be more active.  I will say that I have had  blast riding it and I look forward to the weather giving me a break so I can ride it some more.  So maybe that will help me see the light at the end of the long weight loss tunnel.

Leave a Reply

