Weight Explosion

Well I had hoped it wouldn’t come to this but it has, my weight has exploded to 220 pounds which is why my clothes have all been fitting way too tight.  So what have I been doing all this time….well what do you think, not giving a flip what I was eating and only exercising by riding my trike once during my weekend.

So if you are asking why and what went wrong, it was my lack of commitment and my want to eat things that I knew that I really didn’t need.  I had cupcakes, and so healthy food but mostly fattening foods that were at the top of the charts for high carb count.  Well then just now I took a look at something that I really should have worked on earlier but figured nah, it’s healthy why should I worry, it was a healthy drink which was a green juicing drink.  It contained all sorts of healthy things such as kale, celery, green apples, cucumber but imagine my shock when I took a look at what one serving of the mean green juice was…..83.4 grams of carbohydrates.

I almost fell out of my chair, I thought this was healthy, no let me correct that statement.  I know that it is healthy for me, I just didn’t realize how high the carb count was on this juice.  That is more than I usually consume when I go Primal.

So what does this mean for me, guess for now I will have to stop drinking my mean green juice and have to break down and start eating my veggies.  Hey, the reason I was juicing was because I knew about all of the healthy benefits I could get from the drink, I just didn’t realize how it was damaging my carb count so much.

Now that the shock of seeing that is over, I guess I need to commit to actually making a concerned effort to lose weight.  I have so many things I can do to lose the weight and I’ve done so in the past by eating right but I lacked exercise.  Then when I exercised I didn’t eat right.  So do you see the wild merry-go-round ride I put myself on.  Yes that is right, I put myself in this position and unfortunately I’m wondering what happened to all of my will power and commitment to losing weight and being in such great shape for DragonCon this year.  I’ll tell you where it went….right out the damn window.  I’m mad but there is only one person that I’m mad at and that person is me.  I knew better but that didn’t stop me from putting that birthday cake, those cupcakes, the pizza, the ice cream, fried this and fried that into my mouth so why was I so surprised to see my scale beg for me to make the other person step off the scale.

I had seen that article about the Biggest Loser lady losing 115 pounds in 7 months.  Hey the lady looked good but I’m realistic, I can’t do what she did.  I’m not one for counting calories and yes I know that some people can do it that way but that isn’t exactly my style because I’m lazy.  One thing that I do know about myself is that I’m basically lazy and I often need a swift kick in the pants.  I have a hard time sticking with things and tend to get disappointed in myself.  Does this sound familiar to you?  Gosh I hope not!

Well I looked into her dieting and she said she restricted her calories and then I came across another article that says you can lose 10 pounds in 21 days.  Hey, that sort of sounded like me, losing 11 pounds in 21 days in September last year.  It was the 3-1-2-1 diet and I started to read some of it that was offered as a partial free read and it didn’t sound too bad.  It pushed eating clean (which I’m sure meant following a restricted eating plan) for 3 days, then having 1 cheat day, then 2 days of clean eating and then another cheat day.

This kind of reminded me of the every other day diet (EOD diet) which didn’t work for me.  But what here was the kicker.  You had to follow the author’s 48 minute cardio/body shaping workout plan for things to work.  Well it has come to be known that it is not necessary to spend so long exercising and yes I know there are arguments to and against exercising that long.

So now I’m interested in seeing what is required of the eating program but as for exercising that long…it ain’t going to happen.  My knees will quickly remind me that I shouldn’t be doing that and will get all nice and swollen.  Besides, I’m an old lady and I don’t move the way all of these younger people move.

******

Enough of that, let me tell you what I’m committing myself to do besides considering committing myself to the funny farm.  Old joke … old person here.

So I stepped up on the scale today and saw that I weighed in at a whopping 220 lbs.  I’ve yet to do any of my measurements but I know with this weight explosion that I had, I need to redo my measurements.

So this morning I had a protein shake which was 4 grams of carbs and then went out and rode my trike for just over 5 miles.  Okay believe it or not, I wiped out on my trike.  I hit the brakes to confront dogs that were trying to attack me on my trike and squeezed the brakes too hard and flipped.  Not a pretty sight but lesson learned, I need to not squeeze so hard so quickly.  So I switched back from my wide BMX style pedals back to the original pedals with the SPD clips.  I installed the SPD cleats on my old bicycle shoes along with my new foot exercise inserts and could barely close the shoe.  About 2 1/2 miles into the trip my foot was killing me so I pulled out the insert and just left the pad in and I was doing much better.

Each time that I ride I try to figure out how to make my ride better and I’ve come to several conclusions.  Call the dog catcher about picking up the stray dogs so they will stop attacking other bicyclists and others who are walking or jogging down the street; next exercise wearing the bike shoes and use the clips so I can determine if I can still use the shoes or if I need to buy new ones and keep on tinkering with my derailers/wires because the wires are now adjusting themselves as I start putting more miles on my trike.  I have 115 miles listed on my bike computer but I have more miles than that on my trike.

So let me get back to what I ate.  I had a tunafish sandwich which had about 21 carbs and then did myself in by having my mean green drink but only having about half which was about 42 carbs.  For dinner I had a can of soup, that was all I felt like eating and that had 18 carbs but then I got careless and drank my mean green juice for another 42 carbs and last but not least I had one of my protein bars which had 26 carbs.

Needless to say I’m off to a bad start but the day is almost over and I have tomorrow to go buy groceries and start making myself eat much better.

I’m hoping to be able to get out and exercise even if it is only for 20 minutes by riding my trike.  I really love my trike and now that I’ve started doing small tweaks to it I feel as if I’m just a little bit more connected to my trike.

One last note, I’m quite proud of myself and my ability to say no.  There was a birthday party at work and they had pizza, cake, chips and soda.  Well I already had a diet soda after my soup, yes I know that was bad but I was out of gum and out of anything that would chase that taste of soup from my mouth.  So after seeing how far off I was by drinking the juice I’m counting this as a semi-cheat day but it is a good day to start.  I know I will not be able to be fit enough to fit into a particular costume in August for DragonCon but if I can at least wear off the rack BDU’s then I will be okay with that but know I will have to keep on working at it.

So hopefully after tomorrow I will never see 220 on the scale again when I step on the scale.  I’m going to commit to getting healthier because I’m tired of taking BP pills although I’ve kind of been out of them for a while.  But with regular exercise and healthier eating I know I will drop my BP and I should lower everything else.

One thing I have to do is find a healthier snack or somehow figure out what I can snack on when I get home because it seems as if I’m starving by the time I walk in the door.  It might be all in my head but until I can get my head to thinking the correct way I need to find a healthy protein snack….hm-m-m-m-m bacon sounds good!

Leave a Reply

