Stepping Forward

I’ve been kind of following along diet way of eat…..NOT and any weight I had loss was now back on my body.  However, I decided that at this moment I’m ready to get back on the weight loss wagon and am watching what I’m eating.

I’ve found some very good recipes listed in keto diets and so I’m taking some from one area and some from another area and making them fit my life style.  Normally I would have given up and I almost did after being on it for only 2 days, but then I actually turned away from temptation.

So Monday I stepped on the scale to start the new way of eating and saw that my weight was 217.4 lbs, which wasn’t too bad considering the last time I weighed myself was 5/24/15, not too long before I went to Dallas Comic Con.  I ate poorly and made very unwise choices but a part of the problem was the fact that it was raining.  Did I mention that it was raining?  Well let me tell you it was really raining.  I was very fortunate that one of my friends was unable to come to the con so she gave me her room which was in the Omni Hotel and it connected directly to the convention center which was where the convention was being held.  Why was this important?  I’ll tell you.

Just in case you were not aware of things, Texas has been getting hit with a lot of rain lately which has been good because Texas was in a drought but so much rain in such a short period of time kind of meant that there would be flooding.  Thankfully I arrived in time to beat out the rain and most of my friends got in before the rain fell.  We had dinner and then later that night we were all awaken by our cell phones going off for a weather emergency which was alerting us to severe thunderstorms and then we got another alert hours later, of course after we all had fallen back asleep that we were under a flash flood warning.  The next morning as I was walking down to get some coffee I saw the Trinity River which in the past has been very low, this time the trees along the banks of the river on had the top branches showing.  Then the next night we again had our phones go off alerting us to the weather warnings and in looking out the window again, the river was still just as high, apparently it had drained off pretty rapidly.  So why tell you about the weather, to show the frustration experienced because we could not get out and go to any other local restaurants, not that there are very many in downtown Dallas by the convention center, so my food selection was extremely limited.  I ate a lot of fries with almost everything and a small side salad was $13 which wasn’t much of a salad at all.  I missed having more salads and vegetables and all of the protein was nice but I actually missed my vegetables and I don’t mean any forms of potatoes.

So I came back and ate what I wanted and did what I wanted until I found my pants were fitting so tight on me by the evening hours that I felt the need to unbutton the top waistband button.  Yeah, talk about feeling embarrassed, believe me that is how I felt.

Then came Monday and on the spur of the moment I decided to just go for it and to start eating better.  So you saw my weight when I stepped on the scale and although it is less than I’ve weighed in recent past, for some reason the pants were tighter.  I discovered something called Keto Diet Tortillas, it is something that I make and although it has only 7.3 carbs, by the time you subtract the fiber, and believe me they have lots of fiber with whole psyllium husks, chia seeds (no not the same ones you put on chia pets), flaxseed meal along with low carb flours and it comes out to 1.5 grams of carbs per tortilla.  They have are the first diet tortillas that are very low in carbs and are actually kind of tasty.  They sort of remind me of a wheat tortilla but they have more fiber and get things moving if you know what I mean.  Now I have something else to eat and I fried a few of the tortillas a little longer and then I had crispy chips…really, really, crispy chips.  Next time I won’t fry them as long but they were still tasty.

Well Monday wasn’t too hard to take and unfortunately I got a little hot, didn’t have A/C turned down low enough and something was trying to resurface, if you know what I mean.  I spent the next couple of hours trying to get back to sleep and finally decided to sleep sitting up which worked.

I got up and then stepped up on the scale, yes I know that I’m not suppose to weigh myself every day and yes I know that I’m easily discouraged so doing this only makes me more susceptible to disappointment but I couldn’t stand it.  I had been mostly good but kind of blew things when I tried sucking on a peppermint to get the nasty taste out of my mouth but that didn’t work, nor did honey and finally had to resort to a sports drink.  So I stepped up on the scale and was surprised to see my weight was now 216.7, giving me a 0.7 pound weight loss.

I was happy to see this but didn’t want to get too excited because that is how I’m always jinxing myself and allowing myself to slip.  But I stuck to my guns and remained eating wisely and I ate the last of my keto tortilla chips with some guacamole again last night.

Thankfully I only struggled a little in the beginning to fall asleep but had a few wake up calls thanks to the water I’ve been drinking.  So I was sure because I really didn’t think I had enough water during the day so I was positive that I was going to gain weight so I reluctantly stepped up on the scale and I was WRONG!!!   My weight had gone down, it was not 215.5 which mean that I had lost weight, 1.2 pounds to be exact.

Now I was happy because I had been feeling only a touch hungry and thus why I had the chips and guacamole late at night.  Then the tortilla chips fiber hit after I had my morning coffee and I knew that there would be a weight gain and I just wanted to see what it would be, so I stepped on the scale, closed my eyes and there it was, 214.4.  I had lost even more weight.  I weighed in at 0900hrs the first time today and then weighed in again at 1130hrs which was when I got the 214.4 pound reading.

This means just since Monday I’ve lost 3 whole pounds.  That is incredible.  I know that this might just be because a slight increase in my drinking of water but I would like to think that the extra fiber I’m taking in is helping some.  I’m going to be making some of the Primal Girl’s Wonder bread and will then take my reading as to net carbs and see how that turns out.

Look, I know that it is bad to eat any type of bread but I love bread, I like taste and the feeling of biting into something other than a lettuce leaf to hold my tuna salad or my chicken salad.  So rather than upset myself I’ll just allow for these type of bread products to happen and focus on net carbs, which means increasing my fiber…yeah and no I don’t mean by taking Metamucil, I’d rather get it in my foods.

So I’m finally taking a step forward instead of backwards.  Here’s hoping I don’t falter in the next few days.

 

Oh I can also be proud of myself, there was cake and lots of food at a Lieutenant’s retirement party but I passed on the cake and all of the beans/rice/regular tortillas and chicken.  Then today a group grilled burgers and hot dogs for us and I could have probably had the hot dog or the burger without the bun but I figured I would leave it for the guys working in the field.  Besides I brought something else to eat and I will end up eating that.  Oh and I also passed right by the doughnuts brought in, from my favorite Doughnut shop, Shipley’s Doughnuts.

I have resisted them all and now to attack my salad and the other part of my dinner.  Hope to write to you next time about something positive again.

Leave a Reply

