Return To Sensible Eating

Finally I’m going back to sensible eating which means back to eating Primal.  I was encouraged by one of my co-workers while working at another station and she is eating low carb too.  Well I was doing great and then things started to get pressed for time because my family was having their reunion.  Now don’t get me wrong, it is great to see family and it is also great that they do most of the cooking, but usually it not the easiest thing to fit 20 people into a small two bedroom house which is sort of hard but keeping the place cool and trying to have a conversation is not always the easiest thing to do.

I survived but not my stomach.  They arrived on a Friday night and so we went out to eat and I couldn’t resist the shrimp po-boy but I only had about 5-7 french fries.  The bread was too much and if I had thought ahead, I would have trimmed off some of the bread but by the time I thought about it, it was too late and in my tummy.  The next day didn’t start off too bad but quickly went downhill.  Chicken fajitas, pulled pork fajitas, rice, guacamole, chips, queso, soda, birthday cake, ice cream, cake balls and oatmeal raisin cookies were all a part of the day/evening meal.

Of course I ate too much but at least I got out and walked around the block to ease the pressure in my tummy.  We then went to play miniature golf at a course we used to play with as kids with my father.  It was lots of fun and we were sweating so much while we were there and doing our best not to be eaten by the mosquitoes and again we were sweating.  Came back home where my nephew joined us after getting off of work and repairing a flat tire on his car and we grazed again over the whole selection listed above.

The next day was a repeat of the day before with the grazing only we didn’t have to go outside to cook the chicken like I did the day before.  Then the gang started leaving for their home cities and I still had to go outside and clean up the grill from the day before.  I think that I went through five changes of clothes because I was constantly having to go outside but at least with it being at my house I was able to change clothes.  I think two of my other brothers are going to bring a change of clothes the next time just in case.  Oh and last but not least, I had a root beer float and several more cookies before the end of the evening and felt like I was going to explode.

Unfortunately it was not Blue Bell ice cream for the float and so the cream content wasn’t as high and I have learned that I need a high fat/cream content for my lactose intolerant system not to try and kill me.  So bring on the bloating and feeling horrible…at least for a short time.  I had to take a laxative to help things move through the system.

When I got ready for bed last night I was 221.9, talk about my eyes popping out of their socket…yeah just like the cartoons.  I would have liked to have given myself another day of feasting but after stepping on the scale last night I decided that was the end of the reckless eating.

This morning I stepped on the scale after things worked through my system, if you know what I mean, and it showed my weight to be 216.7, which isn’t great but it is not in the 220’s.  So I started eating better again and although I was still a bit hungry earlier today, I think I’m doing okay for the moment.  Now comes the hard part, as the night wears on my appetite seems to get out of control so I will be trying hard tonight to keep it under control.

I thought I was doing good this afternoon when I had a salmon/Gorgonzola cheese patty thinking it was great and healthy but then I saw that it had 21 grams of carbs and only 2 grams of fiber.  Well if I was trying to do an extreme ketosis day today, I failed because extreme ketosis usually happens by keeping the carbs at 20 or below.  So what, I liked it and had some green beams with mushrooms to go along with it.  Then for dinner I had 2 Keto tortillas with chunks of chicken/lettuce and dressing, a salad and the left over green beans.  I know that I went over 20 carbs but stayed under 50 carbs…so far.

Maybe if I drink more water only in small amounts at a time it will fill up my tummy besides flushing out my system.  All I can do is try.

I took a look at my calendar and noticed that tomorrow will mark day 86 of 148 I gave myself to lose 30 pounds.  So I’ve got to focus and yes I know that losing more than 10 pounds a month isn’t good but when you’re as heavy/fat/fluffy as I am that is probably the only time I will lose more than 10 pounds a month.  I’ve got a lot to lose and a little over 60 days to lose it.  I know that I should have been more focused before and always came up with good excuses so guess I’m going to really pay the price by doing the big push and really watching things instead of doing it in a relaxed manner.

I did learn something this weekend, my niece is considering putting scratch-off winner on her resume because she seems to do pretty good, no she is not rich but she has good luck and usually comes out a few dollars ahead of what she spends.  So I thought maybe I’ll start walking to the store and buying a few tickets as an excuse to get myself out to exercise.

Oh and I did learn another thing…the Primal Wonder Bread isn’t really that wonderful.  I decided to do some carb counting and have even measured out the size of the dough and learned that it is 0.315g of carbs per ounce.  Normally you wouldn’t think too much about that but think about it.  I measured out a small amount, about the size of a golf ball and it was 41 grams so that means that each of those small little biscuits comes out to almost 13 grams of carbs.  That is a lot especially when I’m trying to keep my body in rapid weight loss mode.

So that nice recipe is not going to work with me…too bad.  But my Ketosis Diet Tortillas will just have to do for now as they only have 1.5 net carbs.

A little worried also because I put my car into the shop to have the fluids changed as the vehicle hasn’t been running for 3 years.  I went into shock when the garage called and said that cost would be $1,600 and started naming off the things I needed changed.  I told them I wasn’t buying a new car, and that the reason it is in there is partially their fault because they didn’t properly bleed the transmission fluid when they replaced the slave valve but one of the mechanics said I was wrong and that it would cost me $400 to fix the problem, which I didn’t have.  So now 3 years later the garage has whittled the bill down to starting at $1,000 to be repaired.

Oh please don’t tell me to just get a new car like my brothers.  I got news for you and them, that is not even the amount that I would pay out in monthly payments for a new car and I would still have to change the oil and do regular maintenance on the vehicle.  Yes I know maintenance would be less but the monthly drain on the wallet really hurts.

So in a way I wish I would have bought the espresso machine I wanted earlier this year when I was foolish and believed that I had the money to spend.  Now I’m sweating bullets to make sure I have enough money for DragonCon hotel/meals/autographs/pictures and of course souvenirs.  I may have to break down and beg the bank for a loan but I hate that idea since I’m currently debt free and I hate having to take out a loan.

Who knows, maybe my walking and buying lottery tickets will let me win lots of money so I can pay for my car repair and stuff at DragonCon…highly unlikely but you never know.

Time to wrap this up because I’ve got to finish reading a book I checked out of the library.  So until I blog again…..May you like what you see reflected in the mirror.

Leave a Reply

