P D E – Day 23

I like the number 23 for some reason but today I got a good reason again to like it.  I didn’t lose very much weight from my eating yesterday but that is because I haven’t been taking in as much water as I previously did and I must admit to a small sprinkling of salt, about a pinch if that much.  However, I seem to have grown accustomed to drinking my coffee black; still a little bit yuck but I don’t think I will be putting much in my coffee when I’m not required to drink it black.

Well I stepped up on the scale this morning it showed I only had a 0.3 pound loss.  Yes I know it isn’t much of a loss but at least it was a loss and that is what I’m working for….losing weight and I really don’t want to find what I lost…LOL!  I think the moral is that I need to be more selective when I take a break from the diet but this time as I did my break I thought a little bit better of what I was eating on my first cheat day but the second day I was tired, exhausted and not feeling happy especially after my experience at the con.  So I ordered out and brought it home and ate all the wrong things but then as I told you took something to flush my system.

Perhaps I’m a little bit slower in losing on my first day back is because after the flushing I gave my system, it needed time to get the proper bacteria back into my gut so then I can get back on track to losing more weight.

Oh I discovered something today and I’m sorry I didn’t figure this out before.  So it is possible that my microwave is about to go out and it is okay because it is a touch over 20 years old; so the thing I noticed is that not all of the food is heated up equally.  So I took a russet potato, cut it in half, turned the cut half to the bottom of the wax-coated paper plate, then cooked it for almost 2 minutes, then turned it over and cooked it for shy of 2 minutes.  Well I noticed that it seemed sort of dry which meant that I probably nuked too much of the moisture out of it.  I hate dry potatoes so I took some of my water and poured over the potato half and then sort of mashed it down with my fork and did this a couple of times until it resembled mashed potatoes but left it in the shell of the potato skin.  I ate it (yes the skin too) and it reminded me of twice baked potatoes.  It changed up the texture a bit and that really was a nice change.

Now there aren’t really too many different ways to prepare potatoes plain except to boil, bake or broil and broiling doesn’t really turn out that well, most of the time the potatoes stick.  I use the microwave, boil them or use my airfryer but even that gets tiring…oh yeah I also blend them in mixer so they come out mashed.  So pretending that these are twice baked potatoes is the newest way for me to eat the potatoes and for now my brain is fooled and my taste buds only partially fooled.

So I was talking with someone about this and they were sad because they weren’t losing weight as rapidly as me.  I had to remind her that she only had 15 pounds to lose where I had 90 pounds to lose so yeah in the beginning the weight quickly disappeared.  But it has been a struggle for me, not so much this week as I started back on plain potato eating.

I’m sitting here thinking that if I hadn’t had that very first cheat day I probably would have lost more by this time but that is water under the bridge and I’ve lost those pounds.  Then I reached the 20 pound goal and made it but then allowed myself to have not 1 cheat meal but one whole day and one cheat meal which I split and ate at different times.  So if my final goal is to lose 90 pounds, with the 20 pound loss I would have only had 70 pounds to go but my 3.4 pounds put a damper on things but still I ate within reason yesterday.  As of today I have 72.8 pounds to lose and it may not seem like much but the more I look at it the more I realize that the last time I was down this much in weight was in 2000 when I went to Spain/Portugal/Rock of Gibraltar and I ended up losing 22 pounds in 17 days.  I was 16 years younger back then and despite eating whatever I wanted, I had kept it off for several months after my trip.

I know my goal is obtainable although it isn’t the weight I would like to weigh but I figured one step at a time.  I’m thinking about doing some light HITT cycling so let me explain in case I didn’t do it before.  I read that in order to decrease the size of one’s thighs, they should do HITT exercises and they said if doing it on the bike to keep the pedals spinning fast and not to be climbing hills.

Of course I nervous that this might make my muscles kick in and then I wouldn’t be allowing the potatoes to do their magic on my body but I really dread just sitting around and looking at how large my thighs have gotten.  So since I’m not so sure if I’m going to mess things up, maybe I’ll put off the spinning of pedals for a bit.

It may seem silly to you especially since I have such a long way to go but I think that I only have a little over 70 pounds to go and 70 is so much lower than 90 and although it isn’t much I feel as if this time I can make my goal.  I don’t imagine myself to be able to lose 100 pounds in 84 days like Penn Jillette, but I would love to be at my final goal weight by Christmas but I’m sure I’ll need a bit more time to hit my goal; however, it won’t stop me from hoping.

It is easy and sometimes I’m worried that it might be too easy for me so when I take a cheat day or meal everything will come back on my body.  For the first time in a long time I’m able to actually feel as if my work pants are too big but I’m wearing my new work pants because my old one split in the butt area.  Maybe that was another reason for me needing to go on a diet.

So I decided to start saving to buy a new recumbent trike besides still saving for my car.  I don’t plan on doing a loan for either one so that means I’m going to have to really save if I want the car of my choice rather than the car of my meager means.  Then I want to buy my recumbent trike that folds and has front and rear end suspension so when I finally am able to complete my ride I can do it a little bit more comfortably.  At least the trike will cost less but by then hopefully all of the bugs will be worked out and I will be significantly lighter and will be ready to use the trike to complete my trike journey.

Well back to reality, I did buy an aero press to make coffee and I like it because it will allow me to make coffee and/or espresso.  I don’t know if I want to try espresso right now because the truth is I don’t do a good job with espresso on other machines and I can’t seem to handle it nor can I seem to get it to come out with crema.  Any who I don’t really drink espresso straight, it is much too strong and I need add the frothed milk so I can handle the drink so it will be a while.  But then again I’m now drinking coffee black….maybe…not.

Okay time to go for now, so I’m very slowly losing weight, but still losing after my binge.  Time to pay for my taste buds’ pleasure.

Leave a Reply

