P D E – Days 26-29

Yeah I know I’ve fallen down on the job of keeping you posted on my progress but I’m back on it again.

So where to begin…. I guess I should do them one day at a time.

 

DAY 26

Okay so I got on the scale and got nice surprise, I was down to 198.9 which is a 1.1 pound loss.  This is great because it is a loss and not a gain but I’ll talk about that later.

I must admit that I’m getting a bit tired of having potatoes plain and every once in a while I sprinkle some salt on the potatoes to try and help the taste along.  However, for lunch I decided to experiment on some things.  I nuked a few potatoes wrapped in plastic in the microwave and then scooped out the middle so I could make mashed potatoes, then turned on my airfryer and cooked the empty potato shells for a total of 6-8 minutes.

WOW…I had crunchy potato skins and I added a touch of salt and they tasted almost as good as you get at some of the restaurants.  Only they didn’t have cheese or any of the other yummy stuff.  It was a great texture and I left enough potato in them so they had some potato taste but it wasn’t overbearing.

Sad note though, I ended up adding too much water to the mashed potatoes that I was making with the inside of the potato and had to toss it because there was no going back and I had to clean up before I ran off to work.  Believe me, you have to address the cleaning of your cooking items right away because potatoes really stick onto things and it isn’t always east to remove it.  So I had yummy and crunchy potato skins and this will be something that I repeat later because if I do it too often then I will get tired of them and that would be a very bad thing.

I had been doing good and had gotten off early I did something really bad.  They thought that I was going to take this weekend off so they made some rice and rinsed a can of black beans.

I broke down and had some beans and rice.  It tasted so good that I ended up having 3 helpings of beans and rice and unfortunately I would end up paying for it days later.  But I’ll talk about that a little bit later.

It tasted good and I’ll admit that I had a guilty conscience about wandering so far from my plain potatoes.

 

DAY 27

Feeling nervous, I got up on the scale and was shocked that I actually lost 0.2 pounds.  It isn’t much but considering my rapid weight loss has dramatically slowed down to a trickle but it is still a loss and I’m kind of happy about it.

I’m in a rush to go shopping for some shoes that are supposed to help with my newly developing bunion so I give myself a 1/2 cup of rice which I gobble down and am out the door.  Well a couple of hours later it turns out the shoes didn’t work out and I couldn’t find the correct type of toe spacers to help with my bunion problem.

I noticed my standard car was acting up as I was driving around and I thought it might have been because I hadn’t driven it for a week so I will drive it again tomorrow and see how things go from there.

Remember me mentioning that I was being bad, well I was bad again for another meal.  After I finished shopping, I was really hungry but not for potatoes but I know that I needed some so I made hash browns and cooked them in oil like a bad girl.  Then I had scrambled eggs and bacon to go with my cooked hash browns.  Hey I tried to have hash browns without using oil but all it did was get stuck to the pan and not end up cooking right and that is in a ceramic pan.  So I know it wasn’t what I should have had but too bad because I wanted it and it tasted wonderful.  I’m sure I’m going to pay for it the next day.

To quickly wrap up day 27, from that time forward I only ate potatoes which mean I only had dinner left and I still wasn’t very hungry when I ate.

 

DAY 28

Well I got up on the scale and was happy that I had some weight loss, which amounted to 0.2 pounds.  Again not much but it is still a loss but I noticed something, I’m having a lot of gas in my system.  Guess the beans are finally catching up with me but I realized something else about eating rice.

Now when I was a kid, when we got diarrhea, my mother would cook rice and add extra water in it and we would drink the yucky rice water and then eat the rice and it would stop us up.  Guess what… plain rice has stopped me up like when I was a kid.  Yes I know that beans have fiber and should be making things flow but that wasn’t the case and probably because I had more rice than beans.

This doesn’t make much sense since things are flowing and I feel stopped up and filled with gas but so far so good and I’m losing.  So I’m looking for different ways to fix potatoes and there really aren’t too many ways so I broke down and went to BBB (Bed, Bath and Beyond) and got a Veggi Pro Spiralizer.

I know, you’re wondering why did I do this?  Well I had made some french fries using fresh potatoes and my mandoline and it was okay but BORING!!!  So I bought the spiralizer and thought maybe, just maybe I could cut my potatoes and make them fancy and it might change up how I eat them.  Since the spiralizer comes with 3 blades, I used three potatoes and did the thin/thick/ribbon cut on the potatoes.  Then I stuck them in the airfryer and cooked them.  Three minutes on one side and then three minutes on the other side.  So in six minutes I had very crunch thin potato fries.  Wasn’t too bad and it was mainly the crunch factor that I was after so this worked for me.

But because I only had rice in the morning, spiralized potatoes for lunch (which goes well with picante sauce) I had a late night baked potato smothered in picante sauce.  Hey I need a little bit of flavor, I only hope I don’t become dependent on them or end up paying a big price for it.

 

DAY 29

I knew it was too good to last, I ended up gaining 0.2 pounds.  For straying as far away from the diet experiment.  I’m surprised it took me so long for the weight gain to happen from my being bad.  However, once I ended up having my lunch (potato with mild picante sauce) things finally started moving for me, if you catch my drift.  Because I had already weighed myself and by the time things got flowing I had a lot of water besides lunch so my weight was off so I’ll just stick with the 0.2 pound gain.

Previously when I ate rice as an adult I had butter and salt with it and I guess that kept things lubricated but since I had rice plain it acted on me like it did when I was a kid.  I’m definitely going to think twice when it comes to eating rice again.  Oh and if you’re thinking why didn’t I drink more water, well I had slowed down on my water consumption prior to my rice experience but during those days I increased my water but it didn’t do what I wanted.

So today I’m going to try and refocus my efforts on what I’m eating and just how much water I’m drinking.  I’ve slowed down in losing weight more than I would like and I’m afraid that since my weight loss has slowed down so dramatically, I might do something really bad and sabotage all of my hard work (not really hard) in trying to lose weight.

I should be getting off work early today which will be great because maybe I’ll go home and maybe I’ll prepare some potatoes in one of my other ways and try and treat it as a gourmet meal.  But for now I’m outta here and figure it is time to get back to work.

One last note, I’m so glad I went for my massage today.  I spoke with my guy and told him about my bunion problem and he showed me several massages and what muscles can actually affect and help correct my bunions.  I love my massage therapy guy.  THANKS BEN!!!

Leave a Reply

