P D E – 25 Pounds Slimmer

Okay just as the title suggests, I finally hit a magic number in my books which is the loss of 25 pounds.  The last time I was able to lose this much weight was back in 1984 when I lost 30 pounds in 3 months which was about 90 days.  However, after only 41 days of dieting and having cheat meals or eating things I shouldn’t really eat while trying to lose weight, guess what, I lost 25 pounds.

The only way I lost the weight back in 1984 was by extreme exercising.  This was when I first started jogging and was doing HIIT jogging for 2 miles.  But that took me 3 months to lose that 30 pounds and I wasn’t eating very much because I was jogging at least 5-6 days a week.  However, there is one thing to also remember, I only needed to lose 30 pounds.  Yes I know this means that I only have 65 more pounds to lose and yes this is only a little of 1/4 of the way to go but I don’t care.

Sure I wanted to be able to brag that I had lost a whole lot of weight before Thanksgiving and actually I have lost a lot of weight, but I guess with so much more to go this is just a stepping stone for me to continue my dieting ways….after Thanksgiving.

Now to catch up with things.  When last I posted, it was day 38 but now it is time to pick up where I left off.  I saw a loss of 0.6 pounds and was happy about this because it mean that I only had 1.4 pounds to lose before Thanksgiving which was my set date to allow myself to cheat.

Wait…don’t believe that line.  I’ve been lightly cheating most of the time.  By cheating I don’t mean going out and eating a four course meal, I mean including a few things in my normal eating pattern.  There are two reasons why I’ve been doing this with the first being that I’ve been craving protein…a lot of protein and decided to include it in my diet.  Also by allowing myself to cheat a bit here and there, such as having a sausage link or a couple of slices of bacon or even a scrambled egg sandwich, it is introducing some more protein into my system.

It would be horrible for me to suddenly allow myself to pig out during Thanksgiving only to lose it from one end or the other.  I have actually been learning a few lessons as I’ve been allowing myself to cheat and one of the most important lessons that I’ve come away with is not to over eat.  My body pretty much limits me to what I can eat and lets me know in oh so unpleasant way that it will not allow this to happen.

But I digress.  So back to day 39 and my activity.  I did add a piece of bacon in while pouring picante sauce on my potatoes, like I said I found that I need a little bit more than just potatoes now and again.  I’m trying to keep the cheating times to my first meal which just happens to be close to noon time when most people eat lunch.  I seldom eat breakfast because I’m usually not very hungry so it works out okay for me.

Now onto day 40.  Oh wait, I forgot to mention that when I got home after work on day 39, I was really hungry but I hadn’t prepared any potatoes, figuring I would do that in the morning and I really didn’t want to nuke a whole potato and eat it, so I broke down and scrambled me a couple of eggs and made a sandwich.  Oh my god, it tasted so good and I was really craving the protein.  Now back to day 40.

So on day 40 imagine my shock when I notice that I had lost 0.6 pounds, even after I had that late night sandwich.  I was over the moon, this mean that between now and next Thursday I only had 0.8 pounds to lose to reach another of my personal minor goals.  I know I’m just pushing my luck but my body has been craving a bit more.  I’m still struggling to try and make myself drink more water because I know that water can break you out of a plateau and I’m just so afraid that this is what is going to happen to me.

Despite the night time temperatures warming up a bit, I’ve been able to sleep pretty well which is also one of the biggest benefits that I’ve felt since starting this diet.

Wow, sorry I had gotten off on a tangent but spared you from having to read my rantings.  So I’m sleeping so much better and maybe it is because my body is burning off some of the stored fat I’ve been carrying around for so long.  I’m going to have to see about buying some of my essential oils and try using a solution they suggest to tighten sagging skin but it is going to come at a cost.  Not all of the oils are cheap, most of them are a little expensive so I’m going to at least try them because as I continue to lose weight I don’t want a lot of baggy, saggy skin.  Hey, I’m on a good run with this diet of potatoes so I’m going to keep with it.

Well now here we are at day 41 and I’ve managed to lose 25 pounds.  It really is a big deal especially seeing how long it took me to lose these last 5 pounds.  I mean I went from losing 20 pounds in 19 days to it taking me 41 days to lose 25.

Maybe if I had stayed true and not added salt, picante sauce or allowed myself to have cheat days or cheat meals then I could have lost more weight in less time.  The thing is that although I’ve gained a few pounds between day 20 and 41 and lost some of it, most of the time I’ve been below 200 pounds.  This is really a milestone and a very happy thing for me.  I’m not worried about as much about my cheat days as I was when I took my first cheat day of eating because thankfully I’ve not gained 5 pounds in one day back from cheating.  I know that sounds weird, but just trust me when I say I’m still happy with my loss, no matter how long it took me to obtain the loss.

Oh, wait….I forgot to tell you something kind of important.  Last weekend, when I was taking a cheat day, I tried my Aero Press to make espresso and tried to use my hand mixer for whipping the cream but in case you didn’t remember, that didn’t work out so well.  On day 40 I got my milk frother in from Amazon.  See I lost the top to my last frother and so I haven’t been able to make my version of steamed milk.  So I got on Amazon and ordered a milk frother and got it on day 40.  Guess what, Yes you guessed it, I made some coffee and frothed the milk.  It was good but I used the regular amount of coffee in a small cup and so I didn’t use very much milk, I mean very much heavy whipping cream.  I thought that because the cream was old and a little past the due date, it might have caused my body to act like I had taken a laxative and that was probably why I didn’t gain so much weight from eating a Schlotzsky’s sandwich.

So on day 40 I made a second cup of coffee and had frothed cream in the second cup and things were okay, which means no laxative feeling.

Then on day 41 I decided to use my espresso Kona coffee beans and made a coffee, using the regular amount of water and beans only I put it in a latte cup.  Oh yeah and I warmed and frothed the heavy cream like I did yesterday.  Oh then I was very bad and decided that I wanted a sandwich so I made a sliced turkey sandwich, you know like the luncheon meat you buy in a package and put mayo on whole wheat bread, which I enjoyed with my special coffee.

MISTAKE!!  I don’t know if it was the large amount of espresso or the amount of frothed cream, personally I think it was a combo of the two that worked on a laxative on me.  Last time it wasn’t an issue but today it actually is an issue because I’m at work and today my work partner is filling in at another station.  I basically said too bad because when mother nature rings that bell you had better respond.  So I responded and am still doing it but at least I think most everything is already out of my system.

Oh and just in case you missed the hint, I had a light case of diarrhea which is not the easiest thing to deal with at work.

But onto something brighter, I’ve lost 25 pounds and I’m looking forward to having my baked potato tonight for dinner and drinking a lot of water.  I still want to lose some weight before Thanksgiving and so this is a quick effort to try and lose even more so I won’t freak out so much after Thanksgiving.

Things are looking better and brighter for my Thanksgiving holidays although we still have a lot of cooking/baking to do, but I’ll be doing them carrying less weight around.  Hope you weekend is good and I thank you for hanging tough with me through this mess.

Leave a Reply

