P D E – Day 60 or Restart Day 3

Well for the last 60 days I’ve been sort of doing the Potato Dieting of course as mentioned in previous entries, I took about 16 days off and then piddled around and finally on Monday I got serious about getting back on the diet.

So let’s just say that on Monday, 12/5/16 I stepped on the scale and weighed in at 201.8 which means that yes my weight went up from the day before but that was okay because I had pizza and mixed drinks.

Then on 12/6/16, which was day 2 of the restart (weigh-ins) are in the morning so this shows what happened after just one day of dieting.  I stepped up on the scale and saw that my weight was 201.4 which of course means that I lost 0.4 pounds.  Now that isn’t very much but I figure it was better than gaining weight.

Today on RS day 3, I got on the scale and it showed 200.3 pounds.  This means that I lost 1.1 pounds.  I figure that is a pretty good amount considering I’m no longer losing just water weight.

I wish I could more faster but since it is a loss and not a gain I figure that to be a positive thing.  Now I only wish that I could figure out where time is slipping away to because I would sure like to catch it.  The best thing so far is that being back on the potato diet has allowed me to slip into a deeper sleep which means that my stomach isn’t upset and I’m not woken up at all hours of the night by a new rooster in the area that is crowing all night long.  I mean come on, when does that stupid bird sleep???  Yes I hear it crowing all throughout the day too.  Knowing my luck, it probably sleeps when I’m at work.

I’m having to retrain myself on how to drink water because if I chug too much water at one time I get quite an upset stomach which is not a good thing to feel at work.  So I’m having to do concentrate on how frequently and how much water I drink each time.

Was very excited last night because finally I was able to pull a good espresso shot out of my Handpresso espresso machine (hand pump machine).  I’ve been trying it previously but was never quite on the money, but I did a change in the grind of the coffee beans and that seems to be doing the trick…so far.  So I’ve been spoiling myself a little bit along the way.

A prime example is that I really splurged a bit at breakfast.  I heated up one of the pre-formed hash brown patty in the pan, heated up the turkey sausage patty and then nuked my mini organic pancakes.  I know, I fell down when it came to pancakes.  I’ve been wanting them so much lately that I finally gave in and bought a box at the grocery store the other night and finally had them for breakfast.  I tried to use the maple syrup but it had something weird in it so I tossed it and went back to the high fructose pancake syrup and used that sparingly on my pancakes.  Oh my god, I had forgotten how good that can taste.  It was wonderful to taste all of it and I was so happy to have enjoyed it for breakfast.  I figure if I’m going to cheat then doing it in the morning is the best time to do this.

So imagine my shock at seeing that I had lost just over a pound especially after having that in the morning.  Oh and my appetite has returned and last night I had potatoes late in the evening.  Earlier I had boiled some potatoes and took some to work and was even worse by having potato salad.  I mixed 2 tablespoons of may, a good squirt of yellow/honey mustard/whole grain mustard into the bowl of cold boiled potatoes and it tasted great.  So that was my late night snack after I got home and then I also fixed myself a White Russian drink and was wide awake for about 30 minutes.  Sleep hit me like a sledge hammer and I thankfully crawled into bed.

Of course it helps that it is cold because it really helps me to sleep along with having a good diet.  So my lesson is if I’m going to add things into my diet for the day to do it early because this will allow my body some time to try and work it off.

I still keep on promising myself that I’m going to get out there and do light trike rides or that I’m going to start walking and even had hopes of walking at the zoo.  Unfortunately as I stated before, I’ve greased my fingers because time keeps on slipping through my fingers.

Now I’ve added potato salad or at least my version of potato salad to the diet plan and so far so good.

Oh a few girls at work have asked if I went back to eating potatoes because they saw me eating my warmed up boiled potatoes and I told them yes.  They said they could never do anything like that and started talking about how it was too hard for them to stay on a diet.  The most any of the ladies need to lose is maybe 10-20 at the maximum where I have 70.3 pounds to go.  I told them it was mostly a mental thing because I ate them plain and lived and was very successful.  I realize that I now need to cut down on the amount of salt I put on my potatoes so I’ll start using my white pepper to help season them.  Sorry not a black pepper fan, I’ll stick to white pepper.

Wow, I had gone off on a tangent for a time but don’t worry, I’ll spare you the pain of reading it.  So this is looking good and so far I’m in good spirits as I do this major restart.  I have until the end of the month to get to 190.0 which means I will need to focus on what I eat.  I would like to weigh less but that won’t happen unless I keep thinking of how positive this diet makes me feel.  Oh wait a minute, I’m already thinking this way.

So I’m outta here for now.

 

Leave a Reply

